DID YOU KNOW THAT....?

  • In 1897 sq. Mariino / then village Kokardzha / received its name in honor of Princess Marie Louise, wife of Prince Ferdinand, who was participating in the campaign to help flood victims population donating 1000 gold leva.

  • From the hill "Hasar" /village Stalevo, Municipality of Dimitrovgrad /, in 1230 year, Tsar Ivan Asen II led the battle of Klokotnitsa when Bulgarians defeated the Byzantine army of Emperor Theodore Komnenos.

  • The chairs in the hall of the Municipal Drama Theatre "Apostol Karamitev" are the first chairs of the National Theatre "Ivan Vazov" Sofia and are made from special Austrian oak. On these chairs stood Ivan Vazov, Tsar Boris III and many other prominent cultural and political figures in the history of Bulgaria. 

  • The oldest building in Dimitrovgrad is the Water Tower, built for the needs of the East Roumelian railway opened in 1873.

  • The electrification of South Bulgaria began in the 30s of the twentieth century from thermal power plants in villages Vulcan and Mariino.

  • In 2013 the Municipal Drama Theatre "Apostol Karamitev" and the City Library “P. Penev” celebrated its 60th anniversary.

  • Chernokonevo is also known as "Malak Batak" (“Little Slough”) because of the bloody events during the Russo-Turkish War, when it was completely destroyed by the Turks, and the population was subjected to unscrupulous massacre.

  • Astronomical Observatory and Planetarium Giordano Bruno was the first planetarium in Bulgaria, officially opened on 24 May 1962

  • The first bakery in Bulgaria was opened in October 1951 in Dimitrovgrad.

  • In the Star Hall of the Planetarium Giordano Bruno are displayed around 5,000 stars, the Sun, The Moon, planets Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter and Saturn and others.

  • In Dimitrovgrad there are two sites, part of the 100 national tourist sites of the Bulgarian national tourist movement "Discover Bulgaria" - House Museum Penyo Penev and the Historical Museum

  • According to the legends village Kasnakovo dates from 1810. Its name comes from "kasnak" - wood, from which were made the hoops of the sieves for flour. The village was nestled in a lower area, like a hoop of a sieve, and from there came the name Kasnakovo.    

  • The Sanctuary of the Nymphs and Aphrodite near village Kasnakovo is the best preserved Thracian sanctuary and the only Nymphaeum in Bulgaria.  

  • On March 14, 2012 in Dimitrovgrad is open the first and the only on the Balkan Peninsula International Cynology center "Maritsa". The Cynological center organizes free activities for children with their pets. In the center is organized the first international dog show with different breeds of dogs.

  • The oldest objects fruit of human activity in Dimitrovgrad were found in the cave "Dyado Panyovata dupka” in the area Gabera.

  • In April 1948 is adopted the first general development plan of Dimitrovgrad by the great Bulgarian architect prof. Lyuben Tonev. The second is of 1951 by architect Petar Tashev and team and b their plan is build the central part of the city - downtown.

  • In 1949 - in Dimitrovgrad was opened the first in Bulgaria High School for Chemistry Sciences.

  • Dimitrovgrad is one of the founders of the World Federation of twinned towns, established in France.

  • The first Club of movie lovers in Bulgaria was established in Dimitrovgrad in 1957.

  • On May 30, 1948, the first mayor of Dimitrovgrad Petar Parapanov announced the opening of a weekly market in the city, which can be considered the beginning of the huge marketplace today.

свали като .pdf